Open Banking

If you bank with any of the big UK banks, you can now share data about your account and make payments in new ways. That means you’ll have more control over which websites and apps you can use to do your banking.

What is Open Banking?

Open Banking is a change to UK regulation which gives you more control over your data and helps you bank the way you want to. We’ve made it possible for you to share your data and make payments in new ways, so that you can use new kinds of services to manage your money. These services are still evolving but, for example, you can now see all your accounts with different banks in one place.

Open Banking is an industry-wide change to increase competition. That means these new services won’t just be offered by Bank of Scotland and other banks. Other kinds of companies will offer them too, even those who haven’t been involved in banking before. 

We want to do what’s best for our customers. Making sure you can use new services is part of this. That’s why we’ve been working with regulators, consumer groups and many others to make this happen.

What you can do with Open Banking

If you do your banking online, you’ll be able to see new ways to use your accounts. Open Banking is still new. But sharing data and making payments through other websites/apps could make it possible to:

  • see all your accounts with different banks in one place
  • compare accounts to find the right options for you
  • pay directly from your bank when you buy something online, without needing your bank card.

Our own Open Banking services are up and running. Now, you can see all of your different bank accounts in one place. You can also share data about your Bank of Scotland accounts and make payments through other apps and websites.

Find out how to see your different bank accounts in one place

You’re in control


It’s up to you whether you use any of the new services made possible by Open Banking. You can still keep banking with us the way you do now. There’s no need to opt out of anything, and none of your data will be shared unless you choose to share it.

Whenever you do share data with someone, it’ll only be the data you’ve agreed to share, and you can cancel at any time.