Close a savings account online
Closing a savings account
Log into Internet Banking and you will be taken to the your accounts homepage. Select more actions on the savings account you wish to close.
Choose ‘Account overview’ and select the ‘Close account’ option.
The next page details the balance of your account and requires you to select where you want to transfer the funds to and why you wish to close the account.
You will then be shown a confirmation page detailing the transaction. Check the details and if you are happy click the Confirm button at the bottom of the screen to complete your request.
Finally you will see a confirmation screen with the option to click back to your account overview page. Take careful note of the What you need to do section.
Some savings accounts can be closed online. You can do this if;
- the account balance is £5 or less
- you have another account with us to transfer the closing balance.
Bear in mind
- Fixed rate and monthly savers cannot be closed online - this is because they are structured to pay interest at the end of a fixed period. You might be charged for closing this type of account early. We have not made it possible to close these accounts online to protect you from accidentally being charged
- Not all accounts that meet the criteria are eligible, due to for example, periods of inactivity or restrictions on your account
- Your account will not be fully closed until the day after your request when it will disappear from the Your accounts page. You may not be able to open additional savings accounts until the account is fully closed.
What if my account is applicable, but the balance is over £5?
You will need to transfer all but £5 or less out of the account. Once the transfer is complete you will be able to see the option to close the account.
Can I close my joint account online?
Yes, unless you have previously requested that both parties named on the account sign their names to authorise any changes.
Will I get any outstanding or owed interest on my account if I close it online?
Yes, if you choose to close your savings account online we will calculate any remaining interest on the account and if applicable transfer it along with the remaining balance to an account chosen by you. A statement showing your closing balance will be shown on screen, once your account is closed. This screen can be printed or saved.
What should I do if I have closed my account online but have not received the closing balance?
Please call us on 0345 602 0304
If you are calling from abroad or would prefer not to use the 0345 number, you can call us on +44 (0) 1313 37 76 86.
If you cannot close your account online, or prefer to you can close your account at one of our branches.